How to file a personal injury claim in Mississippi
If you’ve been injured due to someone else’s negligence in Mississippi, you may be able to file a personal injury claim to seek compensation for your damages. Here are the general steps on how file a personal injury claim in Mississippi:
Seek Medical Attention: The first and most important step is to seek medical attention for your injuries. It’s important to get proper medical treatment and document your injuries and treatment.
Gather Evidence: Collect as much evidence as possible to support your claim, such as witness statements, photographs, medical bills, and police reports.
Hire an Attorney: It is highly recommended to hire an experienced personal injury attorney in Mississippi to help you navigate the legal process and maximize your compensation. Your attorney can help you determine the strength of your case, investigate the accident, and negotiate with insurance companies.
Notify the Other Party: You must notify the at-fault party and their insurance company that you intend to file a claim. Your attorney can handle this for you.
File Your Claim: Your attorney will file your personal injury claim in the appropriate Mississippi court and serve the other party with a copy of the complaint.
Discovery Phase: During this phase, both parties will exchange information about the case, such as witness statements, medical records, and expert opinions.
Negotiation or Trial: After the discovery phase, your attorney will try to negotiate a settlement with the other party. If a settlement cannot be reached, the case will go to trial, and a judge or jury will determine the outcome.
It’s important to note that the statute of limitations varies per state and in Mississippi it can vary depending on the type of personal injury claim. Personal injury claims such as car accidents, 18-wheeler wrecks, slip and falls, wrongful deaths, and defective products have a 3-year statute of limitations. In other personal injury claims such as an injury that happened on state owned property or caused by a state entity, your claim is subject to the Mississippi Tort Claims Act which only has a 1-year statute of limitations. Medical Malpractice claims have a 2-year statute of limitations unless it falls under the state entity of 1 year which includes state owned hospitals and clinics. It is important to contact an experienced personal injury attorney as soon as possible to make sure your claim can still be filed.
Chhabra & Gibbs P.A. has the experience to handle all types of personal injury claims. Our aggressive team of attorneys has over 130 years of combined experience to get you maximum compensation. Contact our Mississippi Personal Injury Lawyers at 601-948-8005 for a FREE consultation.