Statute of Limitations on a Personal Injury Claim in Mississippi
Many times clients ask what their time limits or statute of limitations are on their Mississippi personal injury claim. The answer we usually give is that it depends on the nature of the claim itself. Most limitation periods in Mississippi range from 1 year to 3 years. Your case has a limited time in which to take legal action or it is barred. Statues of limitations also vary from state to state.
Most personal injury claims are subject to Mississippi’s general three (3) year statute of limitations. Miss. Code Ann. 15-1-49. This includes car wrecks and 18 wheeler accidents, slip and falls, wrongful death, and injuries caused by defective products. However, there are exceptions. If your injury occurred on state owned property or caused by a state entity, your claim is subject to the Mississippi Tort Claims Act and only has a one (1) year statute of limitations.
Medical malpractice claims have a two (2) year statute of limitations. Miss Code Ann. 15-1-36. However, it should be again noted that a one (1) year statute of limitations applies to state entities. This includes hospitals and clinics that are owned by the State of Mississippi. There can be many nuances and exceptions to statutes of limitations to include latent injuries and in the case of minors. It is best to consult an attorney as early as possible to ensure that your claim is not time barred.
If you or a loved one has been hurt due to the fault of someone else, you can call our personal injury attorneys for free and find out what your deadline is. There is no obligation to hire us. The call will be confidential. We genuinely want people to be armed with the information they need to protect their rights. You can call or text us now at 601-948-8005 or use our live chat on our website.